The Sunny Red Egg Nest

Full Of Daisies

I had no idea what to call this recipe. First, it was a simple “Tomato rice with egg”. Then it became “Baked tomato rice with egg”. Then, “Tomato rice egg cocotte”.  When I looked it up, I found out that cocotte doesn’t mean what I thought it meant – see, for me, cocotte meant an egg cooked to perfection in an oven. Turns out cocotte is simply the little fireproof dish you use. And another name for a prostitute.

Then resorted to the family. They proposed “Sunny Side Up Rice”, which was nice but I felt it wasn’t accurate enough. “Eggy Rice and “Ricey Egg” came up, but none of them stuck. Then my mother typed “Eggs in a basket”, and very fast a handful of variations evolved: “Nest of Eggs”, “Egg Nest” and “Red Egg Nest” were among these, but the winner had something more.

Without further ado, I present to you

View original post 456 more words

Leave a Reply

